DUI License Suspension In Kentucky
Bowling Green DUI Lawyer Protecting Your Right To Drive
If you were arrested for the offense of driving under the influence (DUI), then you are subject to a driver’s license suspension. The length of time that your driver’s license can be suspended depends on whether this is a first-time offense or whether you have previous DUI convictions on your record.
The suspension periods, which are set by the court, are as follows:
- First-time DUI: 30 to 120 days
- Second-time DUI: 12 to 18 months
- Third-time DUI: 2 to 3 years
- Fourth-time DUI: 5 years
If you are at risk of having your driver’s license suspended due to a DUI arrest, you can call our skilled Bowling Green criminal defense lawyer for assistance! Attorney Dwight Burton can help you skillfully challenge your DUI charges in court so you can take every step possible to avoid having your driving privileges taken away from you.
Early License Suspension And Implied Consent
Drivers can end up having their licenses suspended prior to their actual trials if they have any of the following aggravating factors: they refused to take an alcohol concentration or substance test, they have one or more previous DUI convictions or suspensions due to test refusals, or their DUI offenses led to another person’s serious injury or death.
According to Kentucky law, any suspension time that occurred prior to the actual conviction must be credited toward the entire suspension period ordered by the court. Some defendants who get their licenses suspended early may be able to request a judicial review of their suspensions.
It should be noted that refusing to take a chemical DUI test (a breath test, blood test or urine test) is a violation of Kentucky’s “implied consent” law. This law states that anyone who operates a vehicle in the state automatically gives his or her consent to breath, blood and urine tests for the purposes of determining alcohol concentration or the presence of a substance.
If you refuse to submit to the required DUI testing, you will end up having your driver’s license suspended early, you will be deemed ineligible for a hardship license and your refusal will be considered admissible as evidence in court. Unless it is successfully challenged, your suspension will stand even when you are not actually convicted of your DUI charge. Furthermore, if you are convicted, you will be given a jail sentence that is twice as long as what you would have received had you not refused to take the test.
Get A Confidential Consultation!
Contact our knowledgeable attorney for help challenging your driver’s license suspension, whether it is for a failed DUI test or for a refusal to take such a test. We can help you get started by offering you a confidential case evaluation. Reach the Law Offices of Dwight Burton, PLLC by calling 270-495-0074 today!